Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation:

1. History

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation was established in Germany in 1953 by the then Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer. The first President of the Foundation was Werner Heisenberg. The first fellowships were granted to 78 applicants in 1954. Over the time, new fellowship programmes were implemented to offer funds for research to more scholars and scientists.

2. Objectives and tasks

The main goal of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation today is the promotion of academic cooperation between German and foreign scholars. Currently more than thirty various types of fellowship programmes are offered to attract highly-qualified scientists and scholars either at the beginning stage of their academic career or who already have some scientific achievements. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation particularly focuses on and encourages the nomination of female academics and creates opportunities for combining academic career and family life. The Humboldt Foundation grants approximately 600 research fellowships annually for the research periods between 6 and 24 months.

3. Fellowships

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation fellowships are intended to support academics from a wide range of scientific fields. For practical advise and the rules of applying for the programmes please visit the Foundation website, select the name of one of the fellowship programmes and apply online. All the information is available in English and German. The necessary application forms can also be downloaded on the Foundation website. There are no time limits to submit fellowship applications. The selection committee meets two or three times a year. The Humboldt fellowship provides an exceptional opportunity to develop fellows' passions among the best researchers from all over the world.

The following programmes are particularly interesting research fellowships:
1/ Humboldt-Forschungsstipendium für erfahrene Wissenschaften
2/ Humboldt-Forschungsstipendium für Postdoktoranden

4. Research Awards

Every year the Humboldt Foundation also grants research awards, for example:
1/ Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreis,
2/ Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel-Forschungspreis,
3/ Fraunhofer-Bessel-Forschungspreis,
4/ Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis,

To see a full list of the Humboldt fellowships and research awards, please visit the Humboldt Foundation website.

Joomla Templates by